Three Muslim women receive the Aga Khan Award for outstanding projects

The Aga khan Award for Architecture is an award given to outstanding architectural projects that are designed to improve the Muslim communities around the globe. This year among 348 finalist from 69 different countries, 3 distinctive women received the prestigious award.

#1. The Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge

The Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge

This bridge was designed by Leila Arghian (Iranian architect). This bridge was built in such a spectacular way. It connects two parks separated by a highway in northern Tehran and at the same time, it allows pedestrians to enjoy the view of the Alborz Mountains.

Its main purpose was to provide a passage for people to walk between the parks, but it went further to provide green spaces in which people can congregate, rest and eat rather than just passing through. It provides a “stop and enjoy the view”.

#2. The Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs Office

The Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs Office

This architectural design was made by Zaha Hadid (the late Iraqi architect). As a result of her organic designs and fluid which involved so many curves, she was known as the “Queen Of The Curves”. The design of the building came about at the time when the American University of Beirut held an invited competition for design of a structure “that was in harmony with the rest of the university, especially mindful of the surrounding greenery, and to preserve, as far as possible, existing sightlines to the Mediterranean.”

RIP Zaha, your work will forever be remembered.

#3. The Bait Ur Rouf Mosque

khan award

This Mosque was designed by Marina Tabassum, a Bangladeshi architect in 2005 and the Mosque was completed by 2012. The Mosque was designed for a client (the late Sufia Khatun) and according to a recent press release, Sufia donated part of her own land for the Mosque to be built on.

For the innovative design, Marina used cylindrical volume, which was inserted into a square and as a means of keeping the prayer hall ventilated, she used absorbent brick walls.

The area of architecture has for so long been dominated by men and even though some females are in male-lead teams, this is the first time that the Aga khan Award was given to females.

I can feel Goosebumps all over!

You go women!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *