Inventory On Empires And Dynasties Of Muslim Origins (Part 1)

Most of the territories formed today which developed as Muslim countries started out as dynasties and empires acquired mainly through discovery. Here an inventory of those empires and dynasties.


Umayyad Caliphate of Córdoba in Islamic Spain (929-1031)

The Emirate of Bari (847-871)

The Emirate of Sicily (965-1072)



The Volga Bulgaria (922-1236)

The Golden Horde (1251–1502)

The Kazan Khanate (1438-1552)

The Astrakhan Khanate (1466-1556)

The Qasim Khanate (1452-1681)

The Crimean Khanate (1441–1783)

The Bashkirs


Middle East

The Danishmends Dynasty (1071-1178)

The Mengujekids Dynasty (1072-1277)

The Saltukids Dynasty (1071-1202)

The Artuqids Dynasty (1101-1409)

The Seljuk Sultanate of Rûm (1077-1308)


Africa & Spain

(Excluding Egypt, which is considered part of Middle East)

The Mali Empire (1230s–1600s)

The Songhai Empire (1340–1591)

The Adal Sultanate (1415–1555)

The Almoravid dynasty (1040–1147) of Morocco

The Almohad dynasty (1121–1269) of Morocco

The Ajuran Empire (13th century–17th-century)

The Fulani Empire of Sokoto

The Fulani or Fulbe Empire of Macina of Seku Amadu

The Fulani or Fulbe Empire of El Hajj Oumar Tall

The Fulani or Fulbe Empire of Boundou of Malick Daouda Sy

The Kilwa Sultanate (10th century-1517)

The Sultanate of Oman

The Aghlabid dynasty of Ifriqiya Tunisia, East-Algeria, West-Libya and Sicily

The Umayyad of Spain in North-Africa during war with the Fatimid’s

Taifa dynasties of Islamic Spain

The Hafsid dynasty (1229–1574)

The Alaouite dynasty of Morocco

The Marinid dynasty of Morocco

The Rustamid dynasty

The Wattasid dynasty of Morocco

The Saadi dynasty of Morocco (1511–1628)

The Dervish State (1896–1920)


South Asia

The Ali Raja

The Sultanate of Mysore (1704–1799)

The Delhi Sultanate in Northern India (1206–1526)

The Bengal Sultanate in Bengal (1352-1576)

The Mughal Empire in India (1526–1857)

The Khilji Dynasty (1290–1320)


The Ottoman Empire (1299–1923)

The Khwarezm-Shâh Dynasty

The Tahirid dynasty

The Khwarezmian Empire

The Saffarid dynasty

The Samanid Dynasty

The Persian Empire, under the Safavid dynasty (1502–1736), Afsharid dynasty, and Qajar dynasty

The Muzaffarids

The Shirvanshah

The Ghurids

The Ghaznavid Empire

The Great Seljuq Empire

The Buyid dynasty

The Rassids of Yemen

The Rasulid of Yemen

The Tulunids


Central Asia

The Chagatai Khanate

Harun al-Rashid

The Siberia Khanate

The State of Yarkand

The Shaybanids

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *